About Us

Contact Information

Southern Iowa Resource Conservation & Development Area, Inc.

Address: 609 New York Avenue
P.O. Box 343
Creston, Iowa 50801-4056


Phone: (641)-782-4033

Mission Statement


Our mission is to provide leadership and technical services to individuals, groups and communities to conserve, develop, and sustain natural, community, and human resources in southern Iowa. We focus on Land Conservation, Water Development, Land Management and Community Development. Southern Iowa RC&D serves Adair, Adams, Clarke, Decatur, Ringgold, Taylor and Union counties.




The Southern Iowa RC&D was the first RC&D formed in Iowa. It was established in June 1968 and consisted of a 4 county area including Adams, Ringgold, Taylor, and Union counties. Clarke county joined the SIRC&D in July 1968 followed closely by Decatur and Adair Counties in August 1968.

In December, 1968, a study was conducted in 51 towns throughout the seven county area to determine the needs of the community. The study concluded 29 towns indicated a need for additional water supplies, 32 towns had inadequate water distribution and sewage disposal systems, there was a demand for job opportunities in the agricultural sector, recreational opportunities and tourism was lacking, and there was a need to improve existing grasslands for meat production and shift land use to better suited functions. By February 1969, six project areas were identified to be the focus of the SIRCD project. The six areas included soil, water, plant, recreation, business and industrial, and human resources.


Our Staff


Dave Beck

Executive Director


Dave is the Executive Director for Southern Iowa RC&D and the Project Coordinator for Clarke County Reservoir Commission. He serves on the board of directors for The Learning Center of Southwest Iowa (TLC).


Dave retired from the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service in 2011 after 37 years of service in various locations throughout Iowa.  He has extensive experience in water resource project planning and implementation as well as the conservation of soil, water, and wildlife habitat on Iowa’s working lands.  Dave has a Bachelor of Science degree in Wildlife Biology from Kansas State University and a Masters in Public Administration from the University of South Dakota.  He has three adult children and four grandchildren.


Alexi Groumoutis

Local Foods Coordinator


Alexi Groumoutis is the Local Foods Coordinator for Southern Iowa RC&D. She is working to promote fresh, locally grown foods in the seven-county region and is dedicated to building healthier, more prosperous communities by creating a vibrant local foods system while bridging the gap between specialty crop growers, consumers and institutions. To support this work, she writes state and federal grant proposals that support locally grown foods, sustainable agriculture and community wellness. She then executes awarded grants. The latest grant awarded to Southern Iowa RC&D was the 2015 federal USDA Farmers Market Promotion Program grant. In addition, she is a member of the Regional Foods System Working Group, a group comprised of geographically-based practitioners and community leaders with a goal to increase the investment in and support for local and regional food businesses in Iowa.

Alexi is also the Project Coordinator in partnership with the University of Iowa Office of Outreach and Engagement in the SIRC&DA region and is working to cultivate diverse opportunities by working on quality of life projects.  This partnership is designed to provide assistance for economic development, arts and culture development, environmental conservation and public health initiatives in communities within nine RC&D regions across the state. The University of Iowa faculty, staff and students, through community-based research, service-learning courses and staff outreach, are collaborating with RC&D staff and community partners on a variety of projects, workshops and trainings that will enhance the quality of life for citizens across Iowa.

Alexi earned her bachelor’s degree in communications from Northwest Missouri State University and her Certified Chef degree from the Natural Gourmet Institute for Health and Culinary Arts.



Amy Holley

Resource Conservationist


Amy Holley is the Resource Conservationist for Southern Iowa RC&D. She provides technical services to the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) including contracting surveys for the setup of new conservation easements and monitoring conservation easements currently enrolled in various NRCS programs. Recently, she has been involved with various land management activities including tree plantings and erosion surveys. In addition to field services, Amy provides computer-based services including GIS mapping and website management for Southern Iowa RC&D and Clarke County Reservoir Commission.

Amy graduated from Upper Iowa University with a Bachelor’s of Science in Conservation Management with a minor in Biology and a Bachelor’s of Science in Criminology.




Judy Weese




Judy is the Grant/Fiscal Manager for SIRC&D. She administers grants for SIRC&DA and other institutions, like Southwestern Community College, who have been awarded grants. Judy also provides accounting services such as payroll for SIRC&D and Clarke County Reservoir Commission. She also provides accounting services for Revolving Loan Funds through USDA Rural Development.


Kathy Flam

Office Assistant



Kathy is the Office Assistant for SIRC&D. She files and organizes paperwork for SIRC&DA and Clarke County Reservoir Commission. Her duties also include meeting preparation (creating and sending out agendas), attending meetings, and meeting follow-up work (recording and logging minutes).

Before joining the RC&D, Kathy served as the City Clerk of Afton, Iowa for 30 years. She has two children, seven grandchildren, and three great grandchildren.


Southern Iowa RC&D Board

SIRC&DA is overseen by a board of volunteer directors comprised of retired and active county supervisors and soil and water commissioners from the SIRC&DA counties. Board of Directors’ Meetings are held monthly.

Robert Lundquist, Chairperson

Robert Brown, Vice Chairperson

Bill Lamb, Treasurer, Adair County

Mary Klein, Secretary, Clarke County

Karl McCarty, Adams County

J.R. Cornett, Decatur County
Ethel Campbell, Ringgold County
Jerry Murphy, Taylor County
Ron Riley, Union County